Tier 3 Weight Loss, back on it!

These are my diary notes from using a Tier 3 Weight loss Service that I inadvertently found myself on, after years of research I took the plunge and asked the GP for a gastric surgery review (I do have a strong reason). However I was advised that I’d need to undertake a Tier 3 Weight Loss Service with Why Weight (The Bariatric Consultancy Ltd) for originally one year…but now I’m told it’s two…so here I am, after feeling initially frustrated – throwing myself into this in the hope of actually shedding some weight and (hopefully) avoiding surgery!

After a minor shakeup at Why Weight, I’ve finally got a new dietitian who seems to “get it”.

I had to fight for her though….they were adamant that on a Thursday I WOULD be seeing the lady I’d been assigned to. I was uber flexible, I mean ANY other day except Thursday, I was willing to travel….but nope. Nada.

I was then messaged quite a threatening message that stated if I did not attend the appointment, I wouldn’t be referred or recommended for weight loss surgery at the end of my two years with them.

At this point I lost it…I wasn’t mean, I merely emailed and stated that wasn’t the purpose of their scheme to AVOID weight loss surgery? Certainly what I was reading on their main website and with the CQC contracts seemed to indicate that was the case (despite them repeatedly telling me it was to “prepare me for weight loss surgery” …the purpose of the service was to minimise weight loss surgery…which of course is a good thing. I mean if I can avoid surgery it will be an amazing thing of course.

But to literally have “we won’t refer you for surgery” shoved in my face at every opportunity from the appointment schedulers and my previous dietitian who was a big fan of saying:

“You must do EXACTLY as we say or we will not refer you.” In quite a strict voice….it all felt quite sinister.

Oh and then there was the conference that we “must all attend to prepare us for surgery” I’m busy thinking why is it preparing me for surgery when the objective is to get me to not have surgery according to the CQC info…suspicious yes?!!! She then mentioned it a second time in another appointment. “I must attend this conference to be referred, some people think it is a bit negative.” Right……so I’m going to a conference which is basically going to persuade me (perhaps even attempt to brainwash me) not to have surgery would be a completely natural conclusion there. They must think their patients are incredibly unintelligent!!!

To be honest I felt like I was being bullied. That’s exactly what it felt like. Bullied to lose weight in order to look good on their books. Impress the CQC. I’d often see other ladies waiting to go in or coming out looking far from motivated, in fact downright unhappy. It did make me question what on Earth was going on.

I digress…..

I pulled up the receptionist on her stating I wouldn’t be referred and stated I WANTED to engage, I am intrinsically motivated, but each time I’m bullied they were pushing me away. If they wanted to continue to work in this manner with me, that I would pull out of the plan here and now.  I didn’t state it but in essence – fine. Don’t refer me then.

I had almost an immediate apology, they stated they were trying to motivate me…..(really……).

But this was all good, it led to a lovely nutritionist calling me on a different day of the week to Thursday! She was much better, helpful, understanding. She did however offer another appointment on (you guessed it) Thursday with the previous lady, but after a little explanation agreed that I could see her in person in a different town.

So I’m busy back to putting in place all the good weight loss and diet changes I had in place before it was all undone by the previous bullying “nutrition lady” – after speaking to the nicer nutritionist, back on it totally. I really hope this continues, I may actually be able to lose some weight if they conduct themselves in a non-bullying manner! We will see…

Leave a comment